HEADSTAND where have you been all my life?

So exercise, boring right?

Kidding!

Exercise is fun and its good for you and I love it.  I love yoga too,  hot, cold, and all kinds. Both are intimidating when you just start, with everyone doing what seems crazy insane things. So what does any of this got to do with a headstand and with this challenge?  everything!

As a runner and an exercise-er  since childhood, I could run, lift, push, and I even mastered the bird-pose. I have enjoyed kettlebells and can do bur-pees with push-ups and a few other things. Theoretically I should have enough strength to do that very thing yogis do so very easily and effortlessly, the headstand!

images (4)

I used to see them do it for years and it was always so unreachable, so impossible! and it bothered me that I couldn’t get myself to do it. Then one day I decided to  go for it! handstand first, surprisingly it wasn’t so bad and I went on to practice it as often as I could with a help of a few friends.  Headstand was still unreachable and scary and something that would happen eventually but not now.  BULLSHIT RIGHT?

I was hanging out one day and decided to try just for the heck of it, and I did it! it was so unexpected and wonderful because the cliche of ‘believe it and do it’ is true.  I have been practicing it ever since, and have been learning quite a bit about it too.

Here is a list of some of the benefits of practicing a headstand on a regular basis:

Physical Benefits

  • Brings fresh blood to the brain
  • Rests the heart by using gravity to stimulate veinous return
  • Relieves pressure from the veins in the lower body (varicose veins)
  • Encourages deeper breathing, therefore strengthens the lungs and increases one’s vitality
  • Relieves pressure in the lower back
  • Improves physical balance

Mental Benefits

  • Helps overcome fear
  • Better concentration
  • More acute memory
  • Higher intellectual capacities
  • Sharpens the senses
  • Improves mental balance
  • Spiritual Benefits
  • More ojas means better meditations
  • Helps assimilate the vedantic teachings by looking at life from a different angle

Visit http://yoga108.org/pages/show/65-yoga-headstand-shirshasana  for full instructions and more benefits.

It’s not only fun but it’s actually very good for your entire body, the core especially. Having issues with engaging the core all my life, this seems a wonderful alternative to everything else for me.

headstand 4

“The Sirsasana is called the king of poses because it is supposed to have so many benefits. Proponents claim it promotes clarity of mind and makes you a calmer person. It can reduce the heart rate and improve respiration and the flow of lymph around the body, which plays a vital part in removing body toxins. Other benefits include hormone regulation, especially of those hormones associated with the “fight or flight” reaction to stress. Exercises that counteract excessive amounts of noradrenaline in your body are beneficial because they reduce the possibility of stress-related disease.” ( from : http://healthyliving.azcentral.com/risks-benefits-yoga-headstands-9014.html)

I have read from a few sources that being able to hold this pose for 10 to 15 minutes at a time is the ultimate goal and I want to reach it! 

Want to do it with me?  join my challenge herehttp://ketsheadstandchallange.simplelander.com/

 

One thought on “HEADSTAND where have you been all my life?

  1. Pingback: Headstand Beginners Variation w/Murphy Alafoginis |

Leave a Reply

